Q1 Drones and backdrop

Q: When having a discussion of the rules about the backdrop and drones. Several students questioned what would happen if a drone went back and hit the backdrop and knocked down pixels of the opposite alliance. Would there be a penalty for the drone hitting the backdrop.

A: The *Pixel* descoring rule, GS04, applies to this gameplay scenario. A *Minor Penalty* will be assessed for each *Pixel* descored from the opposing *Alliance's Backdrop*.

( Asked by 130 answered Sep 18th 23 )

Q2 Spitting out a third pixel

Q: Per rule robots can’t possess/control more than 2 pixels, and doing so results in a minor penalty for each additional pixel as well as another minor penalty after every 5 seconds. Q1: We were wondering if there is an exception to be made for intaking a 3rd pixel and immediately spitting it back out. Q2: Additionally, if such an exception is the case, are there limitations on our actions while the 3rd pixel is in our possession/control? (ex. driving)

A: A1: Yes there is an exception. The *Robot* in this scenario is unlikely to be *Penalized* for *Controlling* too many *Pixels*. The referee should view the *Robot's* actions as being both *Inadvertent* and *Inconsequential* and not call a rule GS05 *Penalty* as allowed by rule G10. A2: Yes, for this scenario, there are limitations to being excused for a rule GS05 *Penalty*. The *Robot* is unlikely to receive a rule GS05 *Penalty* if the *Robot* satisfies the following two conditions: 1) It ejects the extra *Pixel* in a reasonable amount of time and; 2) It refrains from playing the game while *Controlling* the extra *Pixel*. Two examples of playing the game are: a) Traveling to a different location and; b) Placing a *Pixel In* a *Scoring Area*. If the *Robot's* actions are clearly focused on removing the extra *Pixel* and not playing other aspects of the game, it is highly unlikely that it will receive a GS05 *Penalty".

( Asked by 19458 answered Sep 19th 23 )

Q3 GS06 Rigging clarification

Q: Q1: Are the yellow tubes on the truss considered rigging or just the red / blue tubes? Q2: The rule states: “There is a limit of one (1) Supported Robot per Rigging.” Is this per tube, or the entire Truss? Q3: Asked another way, is it possible for two alliance robots to hang from the Truss - each on a different alliance colored tube?

A: A1: The red and blue pipes are the *Rigging*. The yellow pipes are not *Rigging*. See illustration C-4 in Appendix C of Game Manual Part 2. A2: The rule GS06.c limitation is per tube. There are four (4) *Alliance Specific Riggings*, two (2) red and two (2) blue as stated in the definition of *Rigging* in the game definitions section (4.3) of Game Manual Part 2. A3: Yes.

( Asked by 20079 answered Sep 19th 23 )

Q4 Game scoring elements in wing

Q: line c: Human Players may place a maximum of two (2) Pixels or one (1) Drone In a Wing at a time. This has “or”. Is this in one human action? An action being human placing one or two elements, and pull back outside boundary, Other rule, line d has 6 elements in wing.

A: Yes, the rule GS12.c limitation is per "human action". The *Human Player* may place into the *Wing* either one (1) *Pixel*, two (2) *Pixels*, or one (1) *Drone* during a single action. The *Human Player* must be *Outside* the *Playing Field Perimeter* between cycles of placing objects into the *Wing*.

( Asked by 20079 answered Sep 19th 23 )

Q5 line c) Control/Possession limit exceptions:

Q: line c): i. Knocking over a stack ... Pixels is allowed. ii. Inadvertent and Inconsequential movement of a pre-set stack of unscored Pixels is allowed. Moving the stack Completely Off the tape is considered consequential. iii. Plowing through ... is allowed. Q1: Does the "Moving the stack Completely Off the tape" apply to the entire stack, or is a single pixel on the stack able to be moved past the tape edge? Q2: If knocking over, can more than one pixel?

A: The intent of Rule GS05.c.(i&ii) is to allow reasonable *Robot* interaction with a *Pixel* stack without violating the *Pixel Control/Possession* limits described in rule GS05.a. The Rule GS05.c.i exception is for *Pixel(s)* knocked off of a stack and onto the *Playing Field Floor*. The Rule GS05c.ii exception is for the movement of three (3) or more of the pre-set stacked *Pixels* as a group that stay *On* the white tape line. A1: Penalizing the movement of the *Pixel* stack applies when three (3) or more stacked *Pixels* are moved all together *Off* of the white tape line. Moving a "single *Pixel* from the stack past the tape edge" is allowed because it is less than the two (2) *Pixel Controller/Possession* limit described in rule GS05.a. A2: Yes, the rule GS05.c.i exemption applies to any number of *Pixels* knocked off of the stack onto the *Playing Field Floor*. The knocked off *Pixels* are not subject to rule GS05.a constraints, even if they come to rest *Off* of the white tape line. **Bonus Information:** *Pixels* in the pre-set stacks can't be *Propelled* per rule GS10.

( Asked by 20079 answered Sep 19th 23 )

Q6 Crossing Center Line

Q: Centerstage game setup has stacks of white pixels on both sides of the field. Is a robot able to use the stacks across the field centerline during autonomous?

A: Yes, however, this is a risky *Autonomous Period* gameplay strategy. A *Robot* entering the opposing *Alliance's* half of the *Playing Field* during the *Autonomous Period* risks violating rule GS03.

( Asked by 20079 answered Sep 19th 23 )

Q7 Pixel stack orientation on location line

Q: Will the pixels be placed on the pixel locations stripes in a known orientation such as flat against the wall or is the orientation random?

A: Based on the Field Reset guide located in the Game and Season Information page (https://www.firstinspires.org/resource-library/ftc/game-and-season-info), "Each stack of 5 *Pixels* is centered from side to side on each of the white tape lines on the audience side of the field. The *Pixels* should be touching the field perimeter wall". There is no specification of orientation both collectively and individually in each stack. In other words, *Pixels* can be in any setup as long as they are each touching the field perimeter wall. Teams should design their intake mechanisms accordingly.

( Asked by 5484 answered Sep 19th 23 )

Q8 Launching a Drone from Robot Suspended from Rigging

Q: Section End Game states that launched drones must pass over the rigging and/or stage door to be considered for scoring, which seems reinforced by GS11e. GS11d seems to consider drones launching from suspended robots separately. Does a drone launched from a suspended robot need to pass over the rigging/stage door to score?

A: Yes.

( Asked by 18240 answered Sep 19th 23 )

Q9 Wing Constraints - Is there a maximum number of drones allowed in the wing?

Q: Doesn't address the maximum number of drones allowed in the wing. Does this mean there is no limit?

A: A maximum of two *Drones* are allowed to be placed in their corresponding *Alliance's Wing*. **Bonus Information:** Each *Team* is allowed to provide only one (1) *Drone* for a *Match*.

( Asked by 23410 answered Sep 19th 23 )

Q10 Pre-Match configuration - drone storage

Q: 4.4.1 specifies pixel storage but says nothing about drone storage. Are there any constraints on the quantity or starting location/configuration of drones in excess of the one pre loaded prior to the start?

A: *Drive Teams* are allowed to bring one (1) *Drone* to the competition *Playing Field* for a *Match*. The *Drone* is either *Pre-Loaded* or placed into their *Alliance's Pixel Storage* area during pre-*Match* set up.

( Asked by 23410 answered Sep 19th 23 )

Q11 Section 4.4.4 end game and e. Drone must pass over the Truss or Stage Door

Q: Per the rules, for each scoring attempt (Launch, fly, land), a Launched Drone must pass over a Rigging or top pole of the Stage Door before it is eligible to Score points. May a Drone pass over a Rigging or top pole of the Stage Door MULTIPLE times during a launch, fly, land sequence?

A: Yes.

( Asked by 23410 answered Sep 19th 23 )

Q12 Legal or illegal build kits.

Q: Can you inform me if Go bilda build kits have been deemed illegal? There is no mention of them in the legal or illegal parts and I spent a lot of money upgrading this winter to try and compete.

A: Teams may acquire parts and materials from any readily available source, including GoBilda, providing they do not violate any robot build rules. Pay specific attention to Rules RM01 and RM02 when purchasing parts and kits.

( Asked by 16610 answered Sep 19th 23 )

Q13 GS05 - Robot Control/Possession Limits for Pixels

Q: Please explain if these scenarios will be penalized: Q1: Robot knocks a pixel stack down (GS05.c.i). These pixels are such that they are no longer stacked and are scattered singles. Q2: Robot pushes 3/4/5 of the knocked down pixels into the backstage (GS05.c.iii). Q3: The restriction seems to be, a robot can not move a stack of 3 or more pixels from the white line. Q4: Scattered / knocked off pixels can be plowed. Is that accurate?

A: A1: No *Penalty*. Rule GS05.c.i allows a *Robot* to knock over a stack of unscored *Pixels*. A2: The *Robot* will be penalized for violating rule GS05.a because it is *Controlling* more than two (2) *Pixels*. The *Pixels* in this scenario are *Herded*, a form of *Control*, by the *Robot* because the *Pixels* are pushed to a desired location that gains a strategic advantage beyond the *Robot* moving around the *Playing Field*. The *Pixels* in this scenario do not qualify for the rule GS05.c.iii exception for *Plowing*. See the definitions of "*Herding*" and "*Plowing*" in section 4.3 of Game Manual Part 2 to fully understand the difference between these game-specific terms. A3: Correct, a *Robot* will be penalized for moving a stack of three (3) or more *Pixels Off* of the white tape line per rules GS05.a and GS05c.ii. A4: Yes, any quantity of "scattered/knocked off *Pixels*" can be *Plowed* per rule GS05.c.iii. See the definition of "*Plowing*" in section 4.3 of Game Manual Part 2 to gain an understanding of how to apply this game-specific term.

( Asked by 21816 answered Sep 19th 23 )

Q14 Launching Pixels

Q: Launching is defined as "Propelling Game Elements through the air or water above the Playing Field Floor." Q1: Are Pixels considered launched if they stay in contact with the floor? Q2: In other words, can be slid along the floor and not be considered Launched and if so, are there any constraints in how far they can go?

A: An understanding of the game-specific defined terms "*Propel/Propelling*", "*Launch/Launching*", and "*Slide/Sliding*" found in section 4.3 of Game Manual Part 2 is necessary to fully understand Q1, Q2, and their answers. Please take a moment to review these definitions before proceeding. The "bonus information" following answers A1 and A2 addresses a related gameplay scenario that complements Q1 and Q2. A1: No, a *Pixel* that is "in contact with the floor" does not satisfy the definition of "*Launched*" in section 4.3 of Game Manual Part 2. A2: A *Pixel* "slid along the floor" does not satisfy the definition of "*Launched*" because the *Pixel* remains in contact with the "Playing Field Floor". **Bonus Information:** Rule GS10 states that *Pixels* may not be *Propelled*. Each violation of this rule results in a *Minor Penalty*. To understand how to apply rule GS10 to *Pixels* that are *Slid* by a *Robot*, we need to review the definitions of "*Sliding*" and "*Propelling*". "*Sliding*" is defined as *Propelling Game Elements* along the *Playing Field Floor*. "*Propelling*" is giving *Game Elements* enough force such that they move independent of contact with the *Robot* or *Human Player*. *Launching*, *Rolling*, and *Sliding* are forms of *Propelling*. Since "*Sliding*" is a form of "*Propelling*", a *Robot* causing a *Pixel* to *Slide* violates rule GS10.

( Asked by 15259 answered Sep 20th 23 )

Q15 Are light blue and pink legal Prop colors?

Q: TE02 says that the TGE (Prop) may include multiple shades of the assigned color, but can the Prop be made entirely of a shade of the assigned color? So, could a Prop be light blue or pink since those are shades of blue and red?

A: Yes, light blue and pink are acceptable colors providing it is obvious to the field personnel which alliance the Team Prop belongs to.

( Asked by 16626 answered Sep 20th 23 )

Q16 Drone Launching

Q: How is "over" defined for the purpose of <> "Launched Drones must pass over the Truss and/or Stage Door for each scoring attempt to earn points." Specifically, does the drone need to be fully clear of touching its launching robot before the leading edge of the drone passes the plane over the Rigging or before the trailing edge leaves the plane above the Rigging?

A: A *Robot* must release the *Drone* (i.e, no *Drone* contact with the *Robot*) before any part of the *Drone* passes over the *Rigging* or top pole of the *Stage Door*. The following text demonstrates how to use the Game Manual to substantiate the answer. The answer to the question is found by applying the game-specific definitions of "*Launch/Launching*" and "*Propel/Propelling*" found in section 4.3 of Game Manual Part 2 to rule GS11.e. Rule GS11.e states that "for each scoring attempt (*Launch*, fly, land), a *Launched Drone* must pass over a *Rigging* or top pole of the *Stage Door* before it is eligible to *Score* points. The key point is that the *Drone* must be *Launched* before passing over the specified *Game Elements*. Next, we need to understand and apply the definition of "*Launch*." "*Launch/Launching*" is defined as *Propelling Game Elements* through the air or water above the *Playing Field Floor*. Okay, now we need to review the definition of "*Propelling*." "*Propel/Propelling*" is defined as giving *Game Elements* enough force such that they move independent of contact with the *Robot* or *Human Player*. Therefore, a "*Launched*" *Drone* is no longer touching the *Robot*.

( Asked by 15259 answered Sep 20th 23 )

Q17 FTC machine learning Tool chain: Start Training Model not getting enabled?

Q: I followed all process mentioned on FTC machine learning Tool chain manual (https://ftc-docs.firstinspires.org/en/latest/ftc_ml/index.html ) to train and creating videos and Datasets with same Label but still "Start Training model" button is disable? Has anyone faced this problem?

A: Welcome to FIRST Tech Challenge! As a new (and even veteran!) team it can be difficult to know where to turn for help. Officially there are four places to get official information and help in FIRST Tech Challenge: (1) Weekly [FIRST Tech Challenge Team Blasts](https://www.firstinspires.org/resource-library/ftc/team-blast-archive) - Every week FIRST Tech Challenge provides the information teams crave! The archive gets updated periodically, but teams receive the emails each week with helpful Weekly Tech Tips (new!) and updates teams need to know. (2) Periodically [FIRST Tech Challenge Blog](http://firsttechchallenge.blogspot.com/) and [FIRST Tech Challenge Social Media](https://www.facebook.com/FTCTeams/) - The Blog is FIRST Tech Challenge's place to talk more in-depth about topics of interest to FIRST Tech Challenge teams, and is updated periodically. Also the Social Media ([Facebook](https://www.facebook.com/FTCTeams/), [Instagram](https://www.instagram.com/first_official_/?hl=en), [Twitter/X](https://twitter.com/FTCTeams), etc...) is a way to keep up with topics of interest. (3) On-Demand [FTC-Community Forums](https://ftc-community.firstinspires.org/) - The FTC-Community forums are the official FIRST Tech Challenge forums for technical questions and help. This forum uses the same credentials that you use to access the FIRST Dashboard, and the forum is monitored by FIRST Tech Challenge Engineering Staff as well as the FIRST Tech Challenge Tech Team (as well as the Community!). If you've got a technical question, we technically have an answer! FTC-ML questions are absolutely welcome in the FTC-Community forums. (4) On-Demand [FIRST Tech Challenge Question and Answer System](https://ftc-qa.firstinspires.org/) - That's this site you're using right now. This system is designed to help teams get clarification on game-specific questions. No other forum or system can give you official game-specific answers like this! This system also isn't designed for discussions like the FTC-Community forums are. I hope this helps. Have a great season!

( Asked by 23292 answered Sep 22nd 23 )

Q18 Suspend at end of the match

Q: Q1: Does a robot have to be suspended at the end of the match to count for suspend points? Q2: Does the robot still get the points for suspending if they suspend from the rigging at end game, make it obvious and unambiguous, and then come down off the rigging and go on the floor?

A: The answers that you seek are found by reading the description of the *Robot* location tasks in Game Manual Part 2 section 4.4.4 *End Game*. A1: Yes, to earn 20 points for being *Suspended from the Rigging*, a *Robot* must be *Suspended* from the *Rigging* when the scoring system *Match* timer reaches zero seconds (0:00) remaining in the *Match*. After the *Match* ends, the *Robot* may remain *Suspended* or lower to the *Playing Field Floor* without affecting the previously earned 20 points for completing the *Suspended from the Rigging* achievement. A2: No, a *Robot* located on the *Playing Field Floor* at the end of the *Match* (i.e., match time equals 0:00) does not satisfy the requirement of being *Suspended* by the *Rigging* at the *End of the Period*.

( Asked by 14623 answered Sep 20th 23 )

Q19 GoBilda Motor Legality

Q: Section of Game Manual Part 1 does not list any type of GoBilda motor as an allowed motor. Seeing how GoBilda advertises their motors as FTC legal, they have been widely used in previous years, and that they are a selectable option in the robot configuration, are the 5203 Series GoBilda motors FTC legal?

A: goBILDA motor/gearbox combinations utilizing the Modern Robotics/MATRIX 12V DC Motors, along with their attached single degree-of-freedom gearboxes, are legal per rule RE10c. This currently includes motor/gearbox combinations in the goBILDA Yellow Jacket 5201, 5202, 5203, and 5204 series.

( Asked by 5237 answered Sep 22nd 23 )

Q20 Is it legal to intake 2 pixels while the robot is touching other pixels on a stack

Q: Is it legal to intake 2 pixels, while a robot's other parts (e.g. a beam) are touching other pixels on the pixel stack?

A: Yes, the *Robot's* actions are legal, provided that the *Robot* does not already *Possess* or *Control* any *Pixels* when it "intakes 2 *Pixels*."

( Asked by 21229 answered Sep 20th 23 )

Q21 Drone Trajectory

Q: The rule states – "... the aerodynamic surfaces cause the Drones to follow a non-ballistic trajectory while flying." There is a non-zero chance that, unintentionally, the drone ends up flying with a near ballistic trajectory. Q: Does the team incur a penalty if this happens?

A: If the *Drone* has passed inspection and it remains in a legal configuration (rule GS11.f) throughout the *Match*, a gameplay penalty is not assessed if it flies with a "near ballistic trajectory." A referee may require the *Drone* to be reinspected before it is used in a subsequent *Match* if there is concern that it violates a construction rule.

( Asked by 23312 answered Sep 20th 23 )

Q22 Drone construction by cutting up paper sheet into smaller parts.

Q: Rule Construction Material Constraints: states - "... The Drone must be made of a single, continuous sheet of paper no larger than a single sheet of 8 ½ x 11 or A4 size uncoated printer paper. ..." Q1: Can the paper size be smaller than the standard Letter/A4 size paper? Q2: Can the paper be cut up to make individual drone parts that are later attached together? Team members thought of an origami airplane that requires multiple separate parts that need to be joined together.

A: Q1: Yes, a Drone may be made from a single sheet of paper smaller than a standard letter/A4 sheet. Q2: No, multiple pieces of paper, even if in aggregate they are less than a standard letter/A4 sheet, are not allowed.

( Asked by 23312 answered Sep 21st 23 )

Q23 Pixel pickup and dropoff to alliance robot?

Q: Can a robot pick up pixels in the wing and then drop the pixels in tile row 3 or 4 for another robot to pick up and place on the backdrop?

A: Yes, the *Robot's* actions do not violate any gameplay rules.

( Asked by 14687 answered Sep 20th 23 )

Q24 Are stacked pixels pinned to the playing field wall considered controlled/possessed?

Q: Are stacked pixels pinned against the playing field wall considered controlled/possessed by the robot?

A: No.

( Asked by 19043 answered Sep 20th 23 )

Q25 Exceptions to rule RM02

Q: Good evening. Provided no other rules are violated, which of the following kits are legal COTS items under the exception for COTS drive chassis? Assume that a "swerve module" is a collection of parts including a wheel and mechanisms to rotate the wheel in two axis. 1) A single "swerve module." 2) A bundle of 2 or more "swerve modules." 3) A complete "swerve" drivetrain, including 2 or more "swerve modules" and a frame, necessitating no additional parts to be assembled as a drive chassis.

A: Q1: A single swerve module kit does not meet the requirements in Rule RM02 and therefore is not legal. Q2: A bundle of swerve modules violates Rule RM02and is not legal. Q3: A complete drivetrain made up of illegal parts is not legal.

( Asked by 16379 answered Sep 22nd 23 )

Q26 Rule GS05.c.i clarification

Q: c) i. Knocking over a stack of unscored Pixels is allowed. Q1: Is knocking over more than one stack allowed? Q2: Is it also allowed to knock over the stacks in the opposing Alliance’s half of the Playing Field? Q3: What is the penalty for knocking over more than one stack (if applicable)?

A: A1: Yes. A2: Yes this action is allowed during the *Driver-Controlled Period*. Knocking over a *Pixel* stack in the opposing *Alliance's* half of the *Playing Field* during the *Autonomous Period* violates rule GS03. A3: No penalty during the *Driver-Controlled Period". During the *Autonomous Period*, each instance of knocking over a *Pixel* stack that affects an opposing *Alliance Robot* during the *Autonomous Period* is penalized per rule GS03. Note: The answers were updated on 09/21/2023.

( Asked by 21028 answered Sep 20th 23 )

Q27 Adafruit NeoDriver LED controller legality

Q: Is the Adafruit NeoDriver, I2C to NeoPixel Driver Board, https://www.adafruit.com/product/5766 legal to use for controlling addressable LED lights of the WS2812 variety (NeoPixels) The module would be plugged into and powered by the Control Hub's 5V auxiliary ports. Using a JST SH (Stemma QT) to PH cable, the NeoDriver would be connected to an I2C port on the Control Hub. The NeoPixel wires would be connected to the remaining 3 terminals, 5Vo, GND, and NEO (data).

A: Yes, per RE12.e

( Asked by 16464 answered Sep 22nd 23 )

Q28 Gobilda linear servos

Q: Are Gobilda linear servos legal?

A: As long as a servo meets the constraints listed in RE10 it is allowed.

( Asked by 8899 answered Sep 22nd 23 )

Q29 GoBilda Odometry Pods

Q: In past years, we have seen odometry kits banned. Are GoBilda's new odometry pods legal, or do we need to continue to build our own? https://www.gobilda.com/odometry-pod-43mm-width-48mm-wheel-2048-ppr-encoder/

A: Each new season brings a new set of Game Manuals and rules, it's never advised to make assumptions based on prior seasons. Rule RM02 this season includes a trio of exceptions, one of them allowing odometry kits.

( Asked by 14840 answered Sep 22nd 23 )

Q30 Drone trajectory height / distance

Q: Rule Propelling Game Scoring Elements in GM1 states in part that scoring elements may only propel scoring elements with enough velocity to score and that Robots may not propel a scoring element in the air more than a 18 ft. (5.49 m) distance or more than 5 ft. (1.52 m) in elevation. Q1: Since the field + the scoring zone is 18' what is the penalty if the drone overshoots? Q2: How will the height be measured?

A: A1: The first instance of violating the *Drone* trajectory constraints during gameplay will not be penalized and the *Drone* is eligible to earn points for *Parking In* a *Landing Zone*. If a referee believes that the *Drone* exceeded the constraints described in rule RG07, the *Drone* must be reinspected before it can be used again in a *Match*. A2: A typical *Drone* trajectory testing area will be an open space next to a wall. Tape on the floor and wall will mark the distance and height constraints. The *Robot* will be positioned so that the *Launched Drone's* trajectory is along/parallel to the wall. The inspector will observe the *Robot Launching* the *Drone* several times to determine compliance with rule RG07.

( Asked by 9242 answered Sep 21st 23 )

Q31 Are there any solutions/future plans to ensure metal field elements are grounded?

Q: The middle metal poles holding the truss, rigging, and stage door seem to have no way of electrically grounding themselves to outside of the field, so when metal on the robot touches these elements, there is a static discharge that cannot be avoided by teams. i) states robots cannot ground themselves to the playing field, and a grounding strap doesn't help. Will there be any rules that ensure competition fields are set up to remove static build-up on these poles?

A: This may come as a shock (pun intended), but grounding the field may have the opposite effect that you intend. By grounding certain elements of the field you virtually guarantee that ESD shocks will be more intense and more frequent, as there will almost always be a large difference in potential between any floating object sliding/moving on the field (robot, game pieces, etc...) and the grounded elements. Understand also that the common wisdom of “touching metal” also doesn’t apply the same as it may have 5-6 years ago either - realize that virtually all aluminum extrusion on robots today is anodized, which is an electrically non-conducting coating on the extrusion. Older Tetrix anodized aluminum seems to have a thinner anodized layer, so it wears/scratches/rubs off more easily, and thus it was more likely that the aluminum would be electrically conductive and charge-accessible. This means you're not able to consistently rely on "metal" to "electrically connect" areas around the robot (i.e. thinking of the frame as a “wire” isn’t as applicable). Also the grounding strap is not meant to "ground" your robot, it's meant to attempt to equalize the potential between your electronics and areas of static build-up on the robot that the strap is connected to so that when ESD does happen the charge potential is hopefully small and thus has little to no effect. The [Managing ESD](https://ftc-docs.firstinspires.org/en/latest/hardware_and_software_configuration/configuring/managing_esd/managing-esd.html) article on ftc-docs has several recommendations for how teams can protect their robots. No one solution is a silver bullet, though, careful attention is key! You’ve asked about what event organizers are doing to reduce ESD buildup on the fields. Heavy Duty Staticide is a staple for treating fields, especially those that are at high risk for static charge buildup like areas with extremely low humidity. This Heavy Duty Staticide has been proven to be extremely effective at significantly reducing (or eliminating) static charge buildup.

( Asked by 18362 answered Sep 24th 23 )

Q32 What exactly is considered autonomous interference?

Q: Consider these scenarios: Q1: A robot places a pixel in the opposing alliance's half of the playing field and the pixel disrupts an opposing alliance's robot. Q2: A robot knocks over the pixel stacks on the opposing alliance's half of the playing field and their robot is no longer able to pick them up in autonomous. Q3: Are any of these scenarios considered interference as long as my bot doesn't touch their bot or interfere with the randomization task scoring?

A: A1: This scenario violates the *Autonomous Interference* rule, GS03. A2: Knocking over a *Pixel* stack in the opposing *Alliance's* half of the *Playing Field* that affects an opposing *Alliance Robot* during the *Autonomous Period*, violates rule GS03. A3: Yes, both of the scenarios in this question thread violate rule GS03, even though there is no direct *Robot* to *Robot* contact. **Note**: These are great questions that may lead to the Game Design Committee adding clarifying text to the *Autonomous Period Interference* rule, GS03, in a future release of the Game Manual Part 2. For now, per the text in section 4.5 of Game Manual Part 2, the answers in this question thread take precedence over all information in the game manuals.

( Asked by 17873 answered Sep 21st 23 )

Q33 Notch in drone

Q: Are we allowed to cut a notch in the drone in order to attach a rubber band, spring or similar device?

A: There is no rule against cutting a notch in the Drone.

( Asked by 14840 answered Sep 21st 23 )

Q34 Drone Folding Lines

Q: states that we may use a color printer to achieve the required red and blue colors. In the description, it also says "images." Are we also allowed to print folding lines to assist with the construction?

A: Yes, that is a legal image.

( Asked by 14840 answered Sep 21st 23 )

Q35 Drone Placement in the Wing

Q: Q1: A human player can not be in the wing, if a robot is in the wing. Correct? Q2: If a drone is not pre-loaded on the robot before the match, it can be placed in the wing by the human player. Does the robot have to load the drone itself? I'm assuming that it could not be done by the human player.

A: A1: Yes, this is a correct statement. See rule GS12 to learn all of the *Human Player* constraints. A2: Yes, the *Robot* would need to load the *Drone* itself without human assistance per rule GS12.h.

( Asked by 4149 answered Sep 21st 23 )

Q36 T265 camera legal this year?

Q: Will the Intel T265 Tracking Camera be legal this season 2023-2024? This camera model was legal in the past. A lot of teams purchased and spent a lot of time on them already.

A: No, the Intel T265 is not legal for use. The Intel T265 is a stereoscopic (having more than one image sensor) camera which would violate rule RE13.b.iii in Game Manual 1.

( Asked by 15167 answered Sep 23rd 23 )

Q37 Will TGE (Team Prop) orientation be maintained during randomization?

Q: GM2 section 4.4.1(4)(c) says that field personnel will move the Randomization Object to the chosen Spike Mark. For teams using TGE (Team Props), will the field personnel attempt to maintain the orientation of the TGE as placed on the field by the Drive Team, or should teams anticipate that the TGE orientation will change as a result of randomization?

A: Yes, field personnel will strive to maintain the *Team Prop's* orientation when it is repositioned to a different *Spike Mark*. Randomization relocation is not a precision activity, *Teams* should design their *Team Prop* detection system to tolerate some change in orientation when it is relocated. The *Drive Team* should immediately alert field personnel if there is a significant change in the *Team Prop's* orientation. Using the referee question box after the *Match* ends to alert the Head Referee about a change in *Team Prop* orientation during randomization is too late to affect any *Match* outcome and it is not a justification to replay a *Match*.

( Asked by 7172 answered Sep 22nd 23 )

Q38 Rigging suspension and robot weight

Q: Our team was discussing the rigging suspension task and thinking about years past about how there was a weight limit for suspending. Q1: Is there going to be an update to a weight limit? Q2: If not, what is the ruling if a pole bends or brakes due to robot weight?

A: A1: No, we feel that the *Truss* and *Rigging* will be able to withstand a "maximum" weight *Robot*. *Robot* weight was a major consideration when designing the *Truss* structure and writing the *Truss* constraints rule, GS06. A2: Rule S01 in Game Manual Part 2 describes the consequences for *Playing Field* damage. Some bending of the *Rigging* is expected while a *Robot* is *Suspended*. No *Penalty* will be administered if the *Rigging* returns to its nominal shape in time for the next *Match* on that *Playing Field*.

( Asked by 130 answered Sep 22nd 23 )

Q39 do we have to make a paper airplane?

Q: A drone is defined as a "paper airplane" but it then says that it can be made out of any acceptable building material. Q1) do we have to make it out of paper? Q2) does it have to be in the shape of an airplane?

A: The rules for Drone construction are spelled out in Game Manual 1 Section 7.5 Q1: See Rule DR05 Q2: See Rule DR02

( Asked by 19591 answered Sep 23rd 23 )

Q40 Follow up to q25 and Exceptions to RM02

Q: In q25, it was asked if a complete swerve drivetrain kit is a legal COTS drive chassis. The given answer was "A complete drivetrain made up of illegal parts is not legal." Follow up questions: 1) Which of the components in the proposed COTS kit are illegal parts? It would comprise entirely of motion components (bearings, shafts, gears) and structural components (mounts, frame, screws). 2) Is a complete swerve drivetrain kit compromising only of parts allowed under a legal COTS kit?

A: A swerve drive module, by its very design, takes a one degree of freedom (DOF) motion and adds additional degrees of freedom to change the motion - the total DOF is dependent on the implementation, but it is always more than one. These kinds of components are not allowed by RM02's single DOF restriction for COTS parts, whether bundled in a COTS drive chassis kit or not.

( Asked by 16379 answered Sep 24th 23 )

Q41 Non-Ballistic Trajectory

Q: Q1: How will Robot Inspectors define non-ballistic trajectory (from )? Q2: From Q21: How will Referees define "near ballistic trajectory"?

A: A1: *Robot* Inspectors will evaluate compliance with rule DR02 by focusing on the *Drone* having the general configuration of an airplane with a defined fuselage and wings. A guide to assist *Teams* and *Robot* Inspectors with evaluating *Drone* designs will be published soon on the [Volunteer Resources](https://www.firstinspires.org/node/5146) webpage. *Robot* Inspectors are not expected to validate the non-ballistic quality of *Drone* flight. When asked by a referee, a *Robot* Inspector will verify that the *Drone's* trajectory used in gameplay complies with rule RG07 in Game Manual Part 1. The typical setup for verifying rule RG07 compliance is described in the answer to !Q30. A2: Referees will focus on: a) Compliance with the *Drone* constraints rule GS10 and; b) *Drone* trajectory height and distance compliance with rule RG07. The ballistic characteristics of the *Drone's* trajectory is not a gameplay metric for the referee.

( Asked by 15259 answered Sep 26th 23 )

Q42 Pixel moving which is on the floor and not used by alliance.

Q: Action 1. Red alliance robot picks up a pixel from their side of the field. Action 2. Moving it towards their backdrop/backstage, they drop the pixel outside a scoring area in the blue alliance side of field, while on the way. Q1: Can a blue alliance robot pickup the pixel and use it for their advantage? Q2: This is not autonomous interference? Q3: Does it incur any penalty?

A: A1: Yes. During the *Autonomous Period* it is a non-scored *Pixel* located in their *Alliance's* half of the *Playing Field*. During the *Driver-Controlled Period* it is available to a *Robot* on any *Alliance* because it is not *In* a *Scoring Area* or *Wing*, provided that no other rule is violated (for example, GS05 and GS08 to name a few). Keep in mind that during the *Autonomous Period*, *Robots* may only use its own *Pre-Loaded Pixels* to earn *Randomization Task* points per section 4.4.2 item 2.b in Game Manual Part 2. A2: The red *Alliance* violates rule GS03 each time the dropped *Pixel* disrupts a blue *Alliance Robot* during the *Autonomous Period* or if the red *Alliance Robot* directly *Interferes* with an opposing *Alliance Robot* that is in its own *Alliance's* half of the *Playing Field*. The blue *Alliance Robots* are not at risk for violating the *Autonomous Interference* rule, provided that they remain on their *Alliance's* half of the *Playing Field*. A3: See A2.

( Asked by 21816 answered Sep 23rd 23 )

Q43 Drone in air when time is up

Q: A drone is launched during last couple seconds of the end game phase. Does the score count if the drone is launched right before the game finishes and lands after game time is up? We are talking about 2-3 seconds of margin where the drone might be launched and up in the air and time is up after the match.

A: Yes, the *Drone* is eligible to earn *Landing Zone* points per rule G20.b in Game Manual Part 2.

( Asked by 21816 answered Sep 23rd 23 )

Q44 Backdrop scoring and restriction in Autonomous.

Q: Q1: Do both teams in an alliance get to have their own team prop on each side of the truss? Q2: May both teams on an alliance put pixels on the backdrop and score? That way we have two yellow pixels on the backdrop by end of autonomous. Q3: Is there any way an alliance can put more colored pixels on the backdrop during the autonomous period?

A: A1: Yes, see section 4.4.1 item 3.d in Game Manual Part 2 for how to place a *Team Prop* on the *Playing Field* during pre-*Match* set up. A2: Yes. A3: Each *Drive Team* may *Pre-Load* exactly one (1) yellow *Pixel* and one (1) purple *Pixel* during pre-*Match* set up as described in section 4.4.1 item 3.b in Game Manual Part 2. This is the only way non-white colored *Pixels* enter the *Playing Field* for use during the *Autonomous Period*. A highly unlikely, legal way for a *Robot* to access an additional non-white *Pixel* would be by picking up a stray non-white *Pixel* located *In* its *Alliance's* half of the *Playing Field*. Keep in mind that *Robots* may only use its own *Pre-Loaded Pixels* to earn *Randomization Task* points per section 4.4.2 item 2.b in Game Manual Part 2.

( Asked by 21816 answered Sep 23rd 23 )

Q46 Interaction with the Pixel and Props on the spike mark during autonomous

Q: During the autonomous period while traveling to our Alliance's Backstage, is there a penalty or de-scoring if our robot bumps: Q1: Our purple Pixel off the randomly selected Spike Mark. Q2: Our prop off the randomly selected Spike Mark. Q3: Our alliance partner's purple Pixel off the randomly selected Spike Mark. Q4: Our alliance partner's prop off the randomly selected Spike Mark.

A: A *Robot* is allowed to descore a *Pixel* from its own *Alliance's Scoring Area*. The only consequence is the loss of *Score* value (points) for the descored *Pixel*. A1: No *Penalty* and the *Purple Pixel* does not earn points for the *Spike Mark Randomization Task* if it is *Off* the designated (correct) *Spike Mark* at the end of the *Autonomous Period*. A2: No *Penalty*. A3: No *Penalty* and the *Purple Pixel* does not earn points for the *Spike Mark Randomization Task* if it is *Off* the designated (correct) *Spike Mark* at the end of the *Autonomous Period*. A4: No *Penalty*.

( Asked by 21457 answered Sep 23rd 23 )

Q47 Moving pixels from spike marks

Q: Q1: If the purple pixel is placed on the spike mark in the scoring position, but due to movement of robots doing other tasks, if it moves the pixel from the spike mark (alliance robot or opponent robot), how does the scoring work? Q2: If the achievement score is determined right after autonomous, in the driver-controlled period, can we use that spike mark pixel for badkrop/backstage scoring purpose?

A: A1: *Autonomous Period* tasks are *Scored at Rest* per section 4.4.2 in Game Manual Part 2. "*Scored at Rest*" is defined in section 4.3 in Game Manual Part 2. Applying the definition to the *Pixel* placed on the *Spike Mark*, the *Pixel* is considered to be *Scored* if it is *On* the designated (correct) *Spike Mark* when the entire field has come to rest after the *Autonomous Period* ends. In the Q1 scenario, the purple *Pixel* is not *On* the correct *Spike Mark*, therefore, the *Pixel's Score* value is zero. There is no *Penalty* if a *Robot* descores its own *Alliance's Pixel*. Rule GS03 is violated If an opposing *Alliance Robot* descores the *Spike Mark Pixel*. A2: Yes.

( Asked by 21816 answered Sep 23rd 23 )

Q48 Moving pixels from spike marks

Q: Q1: If the purple pixel is placed on the spike mark in the scoring position, but due to movement of robots doing other tasks, if it moves the pixel from the spike mark (alliance robot or opponent robot), how does the scoring work? Q2: If the achievement score is determined right after autonomous, in the driver-controlled period, can we use that spike mark pixel for badkrop/backstage scoring purpose?

A: We believe !Q47 answers your question. If it does not, please rephrase your question and resubmit.

( Asked by 21816 answered Sep 23rd 23 )

Q49 Moving pixels from spike marks

Q: Q1: If the purple pixel is placed on the spike mark in the scoring position, but due to movement of robots doing other tasks, if it moves the pixel from the spike mark (alliance robot or opponent robot), how does the scoring work? Q2: If the achievement score is determined right after autonomous, in the driver-controlled period, can we use that spike mark pixel for badkrop/backstage scoring purpose?

A: We believe !Q47 answers your question. If it does not, please rephrase your question and resubmit.

( Asked by 21816 answered Sep 23rd 23 )

Q50 Followup Q13

Q: I am still not clear on Q13, as well as the how to apply rule GS05 in the game manual part 2. 1) GS05c. iii. - Plowing through any quantity of Scoring Elements is allowed. 2) GS05a. - Controlling or Possessing more than the allowed quantity of Scoring Elements is an immediate Minor Penalty. I am looking for one example where plowing a robot through 3/4/5 elements does not violate rule GS05a, or does not belong to herding. I am unable to understand the use of GS05.c.iii.

A: Before proceeding with reading the following information, please review the game-specific definitions of the terms *Control*, *Possess*, *Herding*, and *Plowing* in section 4.3 of Game Manual Part 2. Applying the common or dictionary definitions of any game-specific term in section 4.3 may result in a misunderstanding of a scoring achievement requirement, rule, procedure, etc. Game-specific terms are easy to identify in the Game Manual because they have italics formatting and the first letter is capitalized. For example, the text "*Control*" has the correct formatting for a game-specific term. We strive to use this same formatting for defined terms contained in answers to gameplay questions in this forum. Rule GS05.a limits the number of *Pixels* and *Drones* that a *Robot* can legally *Control* or *Possess*. This *Team's* question (!Q50) asks for an example of where *Plowing* through 3/4/5 *Pixels* does not violate rule GS05.a. The definition of *Control* specifically states that *Plowing* is not a form of *Control*. Therefore, all *Plowing* actions by a *Robot* do not violate the *Scoring Element Control/Possession* rule, GS05.a. The second part of this *Team's* question asks for a *Plowing* scenario that is not *Herding*. Since *Plowing* actions and *Herding* actions are mutually exclusive, all *Plowing* actions are not *Herding*". The following are gameplay examples that may be helpful: Example 1: A *Robot* collects two *Pixels* from a *Pixel* stack. Since these are the only *Pixels Possessed* or *Controlled* by the *Robot*, rule GS05.a is not violated. The *Robot* drives directly through the *Truss* or *Stage Door* and stops *In* their *Alliance's Backstage*. Along the way to the *Backstage*, a stray *Pixel* on the *Playing Field Floor* is pushed by the *Robot* and it winds up *In* the *Backstage*. The *Robot* has now violated rule GS05.a because it *Possesses* two *Pixels* and it *Controlled* (*Herded*) the stray *Pixel* for a total of three (3) *Controlled Pixels*. The stray *Pixel* was *Herded* because it was moved to a location that provided the *Alliance* a strategic advantage since it was *Scored In* the *Backstage*. Example 2: Same as Example 1, except when the *Robot* encounters the stray *Pixel*, it pushes the stray *Pixel* for a short distance. The *Drive Team* quickly realizes that the *Robot* just started to *Control* too many *Pixels*. The *Drive Team* changes the *Robot's* direction of travel so that the *Robot* sheds the stray *Pixel*, leaving it behind on the *Playing Field Floor* while the *Robot* continues on its way to the *Backstage*. In this example, the stray *Pixel* was *Plowed* (i.e, it was not moved into a location that gave the *Alliance* a strategic advantage). Therefore, rule GS05.a is not violated. If there is still uncertainty about how *Controlling*, *Possessing*, *Herding*, and *Plowing* apply to rule GS05, the Head Referee at your next competition will be happy to answer your questions during the *Drivers Meeting.* Demonstrating gameplay scenarios on a *Playing Field* is an excellent way to gain understanding of how to apply rules to complex scenarios. **Pro Tip:** *Drive Teams* have an obligation while driving their *Robots* around the *Playing Field* to avoid *Controlling* stray *Pixels* that would cause the *Robot* to violate rule GS05. In other words, *Robots* should maneuver around stray *Pixels* if their *Herding* would cause the *Robot* to exceed the allowed number of *Controlled Pixels*. **Warning:** Deliberately placing *Pixels* in locations on the *Playing Field Floor* to use rule GS05.a constraints as a strategy to increase the difficulty for an opposing *Alliance Robot* to move around the *Playing Field* violates rule G29.

( Asked by 21816 answered Sep 23rd 23 )

Q51 Train Model Button Disabled

Q: I have followed all the steps in the Machine Learning Tutorial Tool Chain and whenever I generate a data set, if I try to train it the start training button does not become active. This is the same issue as described in Q17 but the response to that question does not solve the problem. I have already contacted customer support at FIRST a week ago with no resolution.

A: This is a technical support question, not a game-specific rules clarification. If the issue persists, please seek help on the [ftc-community](https://ftc-community.firstinspires.org/) forums. The FIRST Tech Challenge engineering staff is monitoring those forums, and await your questions.

( Asked by 21915 answered Sep 22nd 23 )

Q52 Randomization Task Spike Mark Location Nomenclature

Q: Q1: For the autonomous randomization task, and placing the yellow pixel on the backdrop, what exactly is meant by “A yellow Pixel on the Backdrop in the location corresponding to the designated Spike Mark”? Is it that spike marks are inferred to be, facing the spike marks, left 1, top/middle 2, and right 3. Q2: Is it the same numbering for both red and blue alliance, in all positions?

A: A1: The answer that you seek is found by viewing illustrations E-3, E-4, and E-5 in Appendix E of Game Manual Part 2. A2: Yes.

( Asked by 22420 answered Sep 23rd 23 )

Q53 Autonomous yellow pixel placement on the backdrop

Q: For the randomization in the autonomous period and placing the yellow pixel on the backdrop, it looks as if each location, 1, 2 & 3 all have 2 slots that the pixel can be placed in, or is it only the left most slot of that location?

A: The answer that you seek is found by viewing illustrations E-3, E-4, E-5, and E-6 in Appendix E of Game Manual Part 2. Each randomization task *Spike Mark* location (left, center, and right) has two (2) slots on the *Backdrop* that the *Pixel* can be placed into.

( Asked by 22420 answered Sep 23rd 23 )

Q54 Pixel Possession in Autonomous

Q: A robot has a spinning intake that can extend ~3 feet in front of the robot, and in the process of intaking a stack in the autonomous period, the robot intakes 3 pixels. However, after the intake retracts, the 3rd pixel spits out of the robot. Would this be counted as a pixel control/possession limit violation?

A: We believe !Q2 answers your question. If it does not, please rephrase your question and resubmit.

( Asked by 23957 answered Sep 23rd 23 )

Q56 Are optic flow sensors considered image sensors?

Q: Would a optic flow sensor considered as an image sensor as in the definition of the Vision Camera and Visions Sensor?

A: An optic flow sensor usually combines a camera, distance sensor (sonar or lidar are most common), and sometimes an IMU. This type of device uses these component sensors to make decisions and provides outputs that can be read/used by a control system - this is the very definition of a Vision Sensor as defined by Game Manual 1. Just be sure the device does not violate any Vision Sensor rules in RE13.b, and also ensure that none of the component sensors violate any rules such as RE12.c in the case of optic flow sensors containing lasers (such as lidar sensors).

( Asked by 19071 answered Sep 24th 23 )

Q57 Manipulation of pixels after being scored

Q: According to Game Manual 2, specifically , it is stated that pixels scored on the backdrop are not subject to the control/possession limit. Does this imply that an alliance can freely manipulate any number of pixels on their backdrop even after they have been scored, as long as these pixels maintain contact with the backdrop?

A: Yes, provided that the *Robot* is not *In Tile* rows 1, 2, or 3 per rule GS08.d.

( Asked by 15342 answered Sep 24th 23 )

Q58 Rule G05 clarification

Q: Robots or Scoring Elements that are eligible for two or more Scoring achievements earn points only for the highest value achievement. Q1: Is a Yellow Pixel placed On an Alliance’s designated Backdrop location eligible for both the 20 point randomization task and the 5 point placement task? Q2: Will the Yellow Pixel then earn 3 points at the end of the Driver-Controlled Period? Q3: Are there other scenarios where rule G05 would apply (except Drones In multiple Landing Zones and Navigating)?

A: A1: The short answer is Yes. The yellow *Pixel* is in two *Scoring Areas*, *On* the *Backdrop* and *In* the *Backstage*. Applying rule G05, the *Pixel's* highest value achievement is for being *On* the *Backdrop*. During the *Autonomous Period*, all *Pixels* *On* the *Backdrop* earn five (5) points. The yellow *Pixel* has an additional *Randomization Task* scoring potential that is dependent upon its location *On* the *Backdrop* as described in section 4.4.2 item 2.b. The yellow *Pixel* may earn both the standard five (5) points for being *On* the *Backdrop* and the *Randomization Task* points for being in the location corresponding to the designated *Spike Mark*. A2: Yes, if the yellow *Pixel* is *On* the *Backdrop* at the end of the *Match*. A3: For the CENTERSTAGE game, rule G05 applies to: a) *Pixels* that are *On* the *Backdrop* and *In* the *Backstage*; b) *Robots* that are *Suspended* from the *Rigging* and are *Parked In* the *Backstage*; and c) *Drones In* two (2) *Landing Zones*. Applying rule G05 to the *Navigation* scoring achievement during the *Autonomous Period* is not necessary because there is only one location based *Scoring Area* for the *Robot* during that *Match Period*.

( Asked by 21028 answered Sep 24th 23 )

Q59 Vision Camera Questions

Q: We are a rookie team so we want to know how many vision cameras are allowed to use this year (one other team told us that only one vision camera can be used). Also are Pixy or Pixy2 Cam allowed?

A: 1. Welcome to *FIRST* Tech Challenge! 2. There are no rules that specify a maximum quantity on sensors, Vision Cameras, or Vision Sensors. 3. The Pixy and Pixy2 are Vision Sensors, the Pixy2 is specifically called out as a common Vision Sensor in the definition of a Vision Sensor. Note that the Pixy and Pixy2 do not have native software support in SDK 9.0, so teams will need to develop their own software drivers to use them.

( Asked by 23280 answered Sep 24th 23 )

Q60 Clarification on pixel stack penalties

Q: In the third part of Q13 and in c.ii of the game manual, it is mentioned that it is a penalty to move a stack of more than 2 white pixels off the line. My question is how many penalties would this violation cause? Would it cause multiple minor penalties for each pixel more than 2 on the stack, (Ex. 3 penalties for moving a stack of 5), or just one minor penalty for the entire stack moving?

A: Rule GS05.a is restated here with the answer to your question highlighted with bold formatting: "*Robots* may *Control* or *Possess* a maximum of two (2) *Pixels* and one (1) *Drone* at a time. *Controlling* or *Possessing* more than the allowed quantity of *Scoring Elements* is an immediate *Minor Penalty* **for each *Scoring Element* above the limit** plus an additional *Minor Penalty* per *Scoring Element* in excess of the limit for each 5-second interval that the situation continues." If the *Robot* does not *Control* any *Pixels* just before it moves the *Pixel* stack *Off* the white tape line, the number of *Minor Penalties* is the quantity of *Pixels* in the stack minus two (2). For example, if there are five (5) *Pixels* in the stack, the *Penalty* is three (3) *Minor Penalties* for *Controlling* three (3) *Pixels* above the allowed quantity of two (2). If the *Robot* continues to *Control* more than the allowed quantity of *Pixels*, an additional *Minor Penalty* for each *Pixel* over the allowed quantity of two (2) will be assessed every five (5) seconds that the *Robot* *Controls* more than two (2) *Pixels*.

( Asked by 19411 answered Sep 24th 23 )

Q61 Penalty Point Values

Q: After text searches through GM1 and GM2, I have been unable to find point values for penalties in this year's game. What are the point values for minor and major penalties respectively?

A: The answer that you seek is found by reading the "*Penalties*" section 4.4.6 in Game Manual Part 2. Section 4.4.6 states in part: "*Minor Penalties* give the non-offending *Alliance* ten (10) points per occurrence. *Major Penalties* give the non-offending *Alliance* thirty (30) points per occurrence."

( Asked by 10836 answered Sep 24th 23 )

Q62 Are solenoid actuators allowed if used as a servo?

Q: Our team is considering using a solenoid (6v) in lieu of a servo. Does this run afoul of regulations?

A: Solenoids are not allowed per RE16.

( Asked by 14903 answered Sep 25th 23 )

Q63 How enclosed can the hexagons be in the robot?

Q: How enclosed can the pixels be in the robot? Meaning, do the refs have to see the pixels at all times or can they go into the robot?

A: Yes, Pixels can be in the robot. However, once inside the Robot it is to a team's advantage to keep the Pixels visible so that it is easy for the Ref to determine the quantity of Pixels that a Robot is carrying, but it is not a requirement.

( Asked by 12682 answered Sep 26th 23 )

Q64 GS12 - Human player inadvertently and temporarily straying into wing/field

Q: Scenario: There is no robot in the wing. During the gameplay, the human player inadvertently leans her head over the vertical plane of the field perimeter, into the wing/field area, perhaps to enjoy the gameplay. Q1: Does the team incur an immediate penalty in this scenario? Q2: Human player realizes her action and backs her head out of the wing/field within X seconds. Does the team still incur a penalty in this scenario? Q3: If the answer to Q2 is no, what is the value of X?

A: A1: The *Human Player* should receive a *Warning* the first time they extend into the *Playing Field Perimeter* without demonstrating a clear intent to place a *Scoring Element* into the *Wing*. Subsequent extensions into the *Playing Field Perimeter* without the intent of placing *Scoring Elements* into the *Wing* should receive a *Minor Penalty* for each occurrence per rule GS12. A2: Same answer as A1. A3: Not applicable.

( Asked by 23312 answered Sep 26th 23 )

Q65 GS11.g.i - Tall robots being hit by opposing alliance drone near the audience side wall

Q: Rule GS11>g.i states - "Affecting the flight of an opposing Alliances Drone above Playing Field Wall.... Opposing Alliance Drone receives points for Landing Zone 1." Scenario: A tall RED robot parks itself right along the audience side perimeter wall, during the game play. A BLUE drone hits it during end game and falls into the playing field instead of landing/falling into zone 1/2/3. RED team had no way of knowing the BLUE drone trajectory. Is this scenario a violation of g.i?

A: Yes, the red *Alliance Robot* in this scenario violates rule GS11.g.i. When a *Drone* contacts an opposing *Alliance Robot* that is actively playing the game in the front half (audience side) of the *Playing Field*, the referee may use their judgement to decide if it was allowed gameplay or if a rule GS11.g.i violation *Warning* or *Penalty* should be applied. In the scenario described in the question, the *Parked Robot* is not actively playing the game and is likely to be viewed by the referee as a strategy to interfere with a *Drone's* flightpath. The following are a few examples of active gameplay that are unlikely to be viewed as violating rule GS11.g.i if the *Robot* contacts an opposing *Alliance Drone*. a) A *Robot* driving from their *Alliance's Wing* along an approximate direct path through the *Truss* or *Stage Door* towards their *Backstage* area. b) A *Robot* returning from their *Backstage* area along an approximate direct path through the *Truss* or *Stage Door* towards their *Alliance's Wing*. c) A *Robot* preparing to *Suspend*. d) A *Suspended Robot*. Example scenarios where the referee is likely to issue a rule GS11.g.i *Warning* or *Penalty* are: e) A *Robot* moving around the front half (audience size) of the *Playing Field* without an obvious *Scoring Element* collection, transportation, or *Scoring* purpose. f) A *Robot Parked* in the front half (audience) side of the *Playing Field*. **Note:** *Robots* have an obligation during the *End Game* to avoid gameplay strategies that interfere with an opposing *Alliance Drone's* trajectory. Similarly, a *Robot Launching* a *Drone* may not use rule GS11.g protections as a strategy to receive *Landing Zone 1* points.

( Asked by 23312 answered Sep 26th 23 )

Q66 GS11.b - Inadvertent possession of another Team’s Drone.

Q: Rule b - "A Robot may not Possess a Drone provided by another Team. A Major Penalty will be assessed for violating this rule." Scenario: A RED alliance drone is launched during the end game and lands inside/over a BLUE alliance robot. BLUE robot is unable to shake off the RED drone. Does the BLUE alliance incur a penalty for this inadvertent, and completely out of their control, possession of RED drone?

A: No *Penalty* should be assessed for this *Inadvertent* gameplay scenario. The inadvertently *Possessed Drone* does not count towards the *Robot's* one (1) *Drone Control/Possession* limit (GS05.a). The *Robot* may continue normal gameplay; trying to "shake off" the stray *Drone* is not required.

( Asked by 23312 answered Sep 27th 23 )

Q67 V-Slot aluminum legal to use?

Q: Hi. Is it legal to use V-Slot Aluminum? There is a picture on page 16 of the "Legal/Illegal Parts" document that has V-Slot piece pictured however it is under the T-slot section. Thanks!

A: Yes, v-slot aluminum is a legal material.

( Asked by 21630 answered Sep 26th 23 )

Q68 Is it legal to remove a Motor Mount to use on a robot?

Q: Is it legal to remove a motor mount from a Modern Robotics/MATRIX 12VDC Motor with 8mm REX™ Pinion Shaft (5000-0002-4008) to use on the robot?

A: Yes, it is legal to use a motor in which the motor mount/pinion shaft has been removed.

( Asked by 21630 answered Sep 27th 23 )

Q69 Can we power sensors connected to the analog, digital, and i2c port from 5v aux port?

Q: Past interpretation of the prior version of RE11.a allowed for many 5v in, 3.3v out sensors to be connected to the aux 5v port. The new RE11.a seems to clarify where sensors can be connected, but was it intentional to outlaw use of the 5v aux port to power them even though they are otherwise connected to the analog, digital, and i2c ports for all but power? The aux port is used to power other sensor port devices, like I2C lights (see Q27)

A: No. Sensors may only be powered via the ports listed in RE11.a. If your sensor needs 5v, you will need to utilize the REV Logic Level Converter as described in RE11.b

( Asked by 14423 answered Sep 28th 23 )

Q70 Drone Curved Glide Path

Q: Q1: The answer to Q30 may imply that only straight drone flights are permitted, what if a drone is meant to follow a curved glide path? Q2: Is it right to assume that the drone cannot exceed a 12' wide x 18' long x 5' high space flight space? Q3: If following a curved trajectory, may a drone leave the field space before returning to the Landing Zone?

A: A1: In general, a curved glide path is allowed. A2: The Game Manual does not specify a lateral (wide) trajectory constraint. The geometry of the gameplay area is the practical limitation for the *Drone* trajectory. The eighteen (18) ft. long and five (5) ft. high *Drone* trajectory limits described in rule RG07 will be enforced. A3: A *Drone* is allowed to exit the *Playing Field* in any direction. There are consequences if the *Drone* impacts something *Outside* the *Playing Field Wall* as described in rules GS11.g.iii, GS11.g.iv, GS11.g.v., and S1 if there is a safety hazard. **Note 1:** *Drone* trajectory strategies that exit the *Playing Field Perimeter* other than through the audience edge of the *Playing Field Wall* do so at their own risk. **Note 2:** A *Drone* impacting a *Drive Team* member of either *Alliance* in a manner that is not interference (i.e., the *Drive Team* member was not able to avoid being hit) should be treated as a *Scoring Element* out of bounds and returned to the owning *Alliance's Pixel Storage* at the earliest, safe opportunity.

( Asked by 15259 answered Sep 27th 23 )

Q71 REV grounding strap wiring constraints?

Q: Reading RE14.k, it seems that the only legal connection points for a REV Grounding Strap are the female XT30 ports of a Control Hub, Expansion Hub, XT30 Power Distribution Block, or the female XT30 on a REV PowerPole to XT30 adapter. Q1: Is this an accurate conclusion? Q2: Does the "No other...adapters are permitted" portion of RE14.k also apply to electrical connections "upstream" (towards the Main Power Switch) of the CH/EH/PDB/PP component the grounding strap is connected to?

A: Answer 1: RE14k requires that the REV Grounding Strap be directly connected to a fully-COTS component with XT30 connectors (includes the REV provided XT30/Powerpole adapter). It may not be connected to team manufactured wiring. Answer 2: No. Teams are allowed to wire their robot as needed as long as the wiring does not violate any of the provisions of RE14.

( Asked by 7172 answered Sep 28th 23 )

Q72 Specifications for a team prop

Q: What are the specifications for a team prop

A: Specifications for the Team Prop are listed in Game Manual 1, Section 7.4.

( Asked by 13532 answered Sep 28th 23 )

Q76 Points when splitting landing zone for Drone landing.

Q: When the Drone lands on a zone line between zones how are points counted? Say if the Drone lands on the zone line separating Zones 1 & 2 and 2 & 3.

A: The answer that you seek is found by reading rule G05 in Game Manual Part 2. Also, *Drone Landing Zone Scoring* example B1 in Appendix F, illustration F-5, shows how a *Drone Parked* in two *Landing Zones* is *Scored*. Rule G05 states: "*Robots* or *Scoring Elements* that are eligible for two or more *Scoring* achievements earn points only for the highest value achievement. If the achievement values are equal, only one achievement counts as *Scored*." Applying rule G05 to the two scenarios in the question: A *Drone Parked* in both Landing Zones 1 & 2* earns 30 points for *Landing Zone 1*. A *Drone Parked* in both Landing Zones 2 & 3* earns 20 points for *Landing Zone 2*.

( Asked by 19934 answered Sep 29th 23 )

Q78 Clarification Q18 Robot Suspension in End Game

Q: Q18, A1 specified that after the 0:00 buzzer, the suspended robots may descend from the rigging without losing the bonus points. The flowchart in Section 4.4.7 of GM2 indicates that pressing stop on the Driver Station is the last action in Driver-Controlled Period. Pressing stop on the robot should depower motors used for hanging which will allow some robots to descend unpowered. Does such unpowered movement negate the ‘at rest’ condition for scoring purposes?

A: The answer that you seek is found by reading the description of the Robot location tasks in Game Manual Part 2 section 4.4.4 End Game. Per section 4.4.4 in Game Manual Part 2, the *Robot* location (*Suspended* and *Parked*) *End Game Scoring* achievements are *Scored at the End of the Period*. *Scored at the End of the Period* is defined in section 4.3 of Game Manual Part 2 as: "The achievement’s *Scoring* status is determined based on the *Robot* or *Scoring Element’s* position at the *End of the Period* (*Autonomous* or *Driver-Controlled*)". The *End of the Period* for the *Driver-Controlled Period* occurs when the scoring system *Match* timer reaches zero seconds (0:00) remaining in the *Match*. The condition "at rest" is intentionally omitted from the definition of *End of Period Scoring*. The Game Design Committee (GDC) selected *End of Period Scoring* for the *End Game Robot* location *Scoring* achievements for the reason stated in the question. After the required action of pressing the stop button on the *Driver Station*, *Robots* without a mechanical lock to maintain their position, are likely to lower to the *Playing Field Floor*. The GDC wants *Suspended Robots* at the *End of the Period* to earn the *Suspended from the Rigging* points, even if the *Robot* lowers and touches the *Playing Field Floor* after the *Match* ends and the *Driver Station* stop button is pressed.

( Asked by 21490 answered Sep 29th 23 )